TVP Saves Money

save moneySince it is Friday, I thought it would be a good time to share a money-saving tip about using TVP. We often get tired of cooking by Friday and want something quick and easy for dinner.

TVP, or texturized vegetable protein is quick to cook, full of protein and very cheap. Often used as a meat substitute, TVP can extend many meals, providing nutrition for very little money.  TVP comes dried, so it lasts practically forever. You can purchase it at your local natural food store or even a chain such as Whole Foods. You can get it in a non-GMO version, which basically means that it hasn’t been genetically modified, as so many of our plant and vegetable products usually are.

Tonight, I’m putting my money (or should I save savings) where my mouth is and using some TVP to make healthy, vegetarian and really cheap Sloppy Joes. Since I am also making homemade buns thanks to my bread machine, the meal is literally costing us less than $5 to feed our family of five, and that includes a can of ready-made Sloppy Joe sauce and some frozen veggies on the side.

What is your favorite ingredient to use to save money?

1 Comment

Filed under Saving Money

One response to “TVP Saves Money

  1. Tashi

    I had never heard of TVP until your article. Thanks! I recently heard of Puffed Kamut, which I eventually found out, is, more or less, puffed wheat cereal. It’s available at health food stores, but I haven’t bought any yet. I saw a great healthier Italian meatballs and spaghetti recipe on Food Network that calls for Puffed Kamut, to partially replace some of the meat (the veal is left out, and extra lean ground beef, ground pork, and lean ground turkey is used, in addition to the kamut). I’m anxious to try this recipe, as the nutritional values go up, and the bad stuff goes way on down. An ingredient that I love to use to save money is raw black beans. I buy the plain dried kinds in bags, then soak them overnight, and then cook them up, either in a crock pot, my cool rice/multi-cooker, or in a pot on the stove. I save SOOOO much money, and it’s always healthier. I just freeze the amounts I don’t plan to use soon. I suppose in a huge pinch, I’d buy the canned beans, but I really can’t justify the cost and reduced quantity.

Leave a Reply

