Why You’ll Never See a Sparrow on Hoarders

file0001829268490Snowed in. The bright white of the world brings new promise to the day, the week, the year. The sky, a soft, happy blue, is the perfect foil against snow-covered branches that reach up, swaying in the wind, every movement bringing forth a new flutter of polka dots of snow. The cat wonders if he can catch any of it.

The baseboard heat ticks and clings and rumbles softly, trying to keep us warm and providing a little bit of a concert each time the furnace kicks in.

I sigh and turn back to the bags and boxes that litter our bedroom, when all I really want to do is get back in bed with my very interesting book and another cup of coffee. The piles of stuff slated for donation is slightly depressing, not energizing, as I thought it would be.  This morning, I’m afraid to let go.  So, I log a few things in my notebook, for tax purposes and then stare out the window. The clutter is sucking me down.

There are two birds playing in the holly trees. Despite the wind, they hop up and down the branches. Their joy is obvious and immediate. One knocks a bit of snow on the other, who unafraid ruffles its feathers a bit and hops some more. They feast on the berries.

Then I have one of those moments. Something pops into my mind, a bit of a verse. Something about being taken care of, about being in His loving arms. I look it up.

“Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matthew 6:26 (NIV)

In other words, I need to get over myself. Stop worrying. Stop holding on to so much.

Gently, He tells me; have faith, and I do. This is good for me, for my family. Removing the clutter. Removing the distractions.  Freeing us for what is important. Like hugging a child and finding treasures in the snow.

Letting all of this go today (items since the last update are in bold):

  • One box of old photos
  • Sweaters
  • Towels
  • Sweatshirts
  • Underwear drawer
  • Make up and toiletries
  • Laundry room shelves
  • Recipe magazines
  • Baskets
  • Rags (Ugh, why was I keeping so many–was I worried about a shortage?)
  • One kitchen cabinet
  • Cookie sheets, muffin pans and platters
  • Pens and Pencils (Until I went around the house and actually gathered them all up, I had no idea how many we had! A bunch went in the trash and a bag full of nice ones were donated to my son’s kindergarten teacher, who will have enough writing instruments to last until said son is in college.)
  • One kitchen drawer (Goodbye chip clips. I sent them to a new friend I met online who was in dire need of some.)
  • More books! (The recent purging and a prompt from organizing guru, Peter Walsh, has made me brave enough to get rid of another large box of books.)
  • The Junk Drawer!!!
  • Master Bedroom Bedding (I even sewed a button on to our comforter cover–a bit of mental clutter solved)
  • Kids Puzzles and Workbooks (I somehow missed this when I did the toys earlier in the week)
  • Socks (All five of us plus the bag of single socks)
  • Utensils
  • Belts
  • Some photos (This will be a long project)
  • Children’s closets (3)
  • Flat surface two (Bedroom dresser)
  • Pots and pans
  • Small appliances
  • Flat surface 3 (Left kitchen pantry)
  • Under the kitchen sink
  • The Car (Hint for those in freezing weather: Grab a laundry basket. Make a mad dash to the car. Fill the laundry basket. Dash back in the house. Sort in the warmth of the living room. Oh, and don’t forget to wear shoes. Brr.)
  • One large food pantry
  • Magazines
  • Flat surface one (Produce bin)
  • Toys (one large contractor bag–whoo hoo)
  • Children’s books
  • Children’s videos
  • Adult Books
  • Cookbooks
  • Adult medicine cabinet
  • Children’s medicine cabinet
2 Comments

Filed under Minimalism

2 responses to “Why You’ll Never See a Sparrow on Hoarders

  1. what a great post. I not only enjoyed reading your description of the snow outside but also your insight on decluttering. It seems like you most certainly have made a dent. a few minutes a day to declutter our world truly is amazing. Love your blog…Ive learned through words you can get so much compassion from those we have not actually met but through the screen you feel like your friends forever…….

  2. Donna, thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such an uplifting comment. It is so nice to get to know you. Thank you also for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

