Clutter Busting: How to Keep the Motivation Going

IMG_1969

That burst of energy you get when you first start organizing your home is wonderful isn’t it? Little victories turn into larger ones, and the good feelings you get keep you going. Have you ever removed clutter from a space and then found yourself returning back to it throughout the day just to admire how good it looks? You organize your closet, a shelf, a drawer and it serves as your inspiration to keep going on other areas of your house.

Then things happen. Life gets busy. You get a cold. The kids or the husband junk up the newly cleaned space. You get discouraged. You wonder if it is all worth it, this being organized. You think another re-run of Sex in the City sounds better than diving into the hall closet and organizing the boots.

When this happens, the important thing is to try and get back to your clutter busting goals as soon as you can. Give yourself a break, if you really need it, but then set a day or a time when you will get back to the clutter. Here are some other ways to keep the motivation going when you are clutter busting.

  1. Work in 10-15 minute increments. This is a small commitment, but it is effective. Your home will improve, and you will see a difference.
  2. Pick a new project each day. Before you go to bed decide what you will tackle the next day. When you wake up, you’ll find yourself looking forward to completing the new task.
  3. Be accountable. Make sure someone else knows your goals and your progress. You won’t want to disappoint them. Plus, you can show off the your results.
  4. Plan to give yourself little rewards when you do a job well done, such as 30 minutes to read a book, a couple of pieces of dark chocolate, or the perfect sweater to fit in your newly organized closet.

Remember: My good thoughts go with you during your clutter busting.

Here is my own updated clutter busting list. I spent about 10-20 minutes on each project.

  • One kitchen cabinet
  • Cookie sheets, muffin pans and platters
  • Pens and Pencils (Until I went around the house and actually gathered them all up, I had no idea how many we had! A bunch went in the trash and a bag full of nice ones were donated to my son’s kindergarten teacher, who will have enough writing instruments to last until said son is in college.)
  • One kitchen drawer (Goodbye chip clips. I sent them to a new friend I met online who was in dire need of some.)
  • More books! (The recent purging and a prompt from organizing guru, Peter Walsh, has made me brave enough to get rid of another large box of books.)
  • The Junk Drawer!!! 
  • Master Bedroom Bedding (I even sewed a button on to our comforter cover–a bit of mental clutter solved)
  • Kids Puzzles and Workbooks (I somehow missed this when I did the toys earlier in the week)
  • Socks (All five of us plus the bag of single socks)
  • Utensils
  • Belts
  • Some photos (This will be a long project)
  • Children’s closets (3)
  • Flat surface two (Bedroom dresser)
  • Pots and pans
  • Small appliances
  • Flat surface 3 (Left kitchen pantry)
  • Under the kitchen sink
  • The Car (Hint for those in freezing weather: Grab a laundry basket. Make a mad dash to the car. Fill the laundry basket. Dash back in the house. Sort in the warmth of the living room. Oh, and don’t forget to wear shoes. Brr.)
  • One large food pantry
  • Magazines
  • Flat surface one (Produce bin)
  • Toys (one large contractor bag–whoo hoo)
  • Children’s books
  • Children’s videos
  • Adult Books
  • Cookbooks
  • Adult medicine cabinet
  • Children’s medicine cabinet
1 Comment

Filed under Home

One response to “Clutter Busting: How to Keep the Motivation Going

  1. Great ideas. I always like to reward myself. Although it seems like once I reward myself I don’t go back to it till the next day. Just getting started is the hard part, but once I get going, it’s great to see the progress. I like to hold myself accountable too, which is one reason I blog about my efforts. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

Leave a Reply

