Bread Machine Recipes: Cinnamon Rolls

IMG_1941

Did I mention that I love my bread machine? Nah, I bet I never did. Anyway, I LOVE my bread machine, because it helps me provide all sorts of yummy bread things.

One of the kids’ favorite things to ever come out of the bread machine is the cinnamon roll recipe. I have to confess that I have been known to sneak one or two for snacks well after breakfast is done.

The nice thing about this bread machine recipe is that it makes two pans of cinnamon rolls. We generally eat one pan over the course of a day or two and freeze the other for a quick breakfast that feels special. While the recipe feels decadent, I estimate it to cost somewhere around $1.25 to make. Not bad at all.

Here is the recipe.

Bread Machine Cinnamon Rolls

Dough:

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons warm milk

3 tablespoons canola oil

1 egg, lightly beaten plus 2 egg whites

1/2 cup sugar

5 cups bread flour

1 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons bread machine yeast

Filling:

4 tablespoons butter, melted

1-1/3 cup brown sugar mixed with 1 tablespoon cinnamon

Icing:

1 quick “gluggy” of milk–about 5-6 tablespoons

1-1/2 cups confectioners sugar

4 tablespoons butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla

  1. The dough ingredients go in the bread machine in whichever order your machine recommends (usually wet first, then dry then yeast).
  2. While the dough is in the bread machine, mix up the filling.
  3. After the dough cycle is finished, roll the dough into a large, long  rectangle on your counter. I usually make a long snake shape, place it on the counter lengthwise, and then roll it up and back. If the dough is hard to work with, let it rest for five minutes.
  4. Spread the dough with the melted butter and then the sugar and cinnamon mixture.
  5. Roll up the dough.
  6. Using a sharp knife, and cut the dough into rolls and place them cinnamon side up (cut ends) in two greased round cake pans.
  7. Bake at 325 degrees for 20 minutes or until they are nicely browned. Spread the icing on the rolls while they are hot. You can also freeze and reheat these rolls, which I often do!
4 Comments

Filed under Home

4 responses to “Bread Machine Recipes: Cinnamon Rolls

  1. These look lovely and comforting for a winters day. Thanks for visiting my blog, helped me find yours, like your philosophy, I will be back! Tracey

  2. Pingback: The Amish Give Me Corn Muffins | Home in a Woods

Leave a Reply

